Skip to content

Easy 日本語 4『It’s a Magical Thing!』

October 4, 2009

preview12Tonight we have a magical act planned for you that will even turn Cirque du Soleil green with envy, but for your 日本語ために we’re willing to risk it all! The duo「」&「」are tonight’s center attention and your first class seat has been reserved already…!

fullpagedivider
mini-easy4

Ladies and Gentlemen, Boys and Girls! Gather, gather and come see tonight’s magical thing! Your friendly Japanese language assistant Chokochoko was so brave enough to volunteer for this bedazzling and dangerous act just to teach you a thing or TWO about the Japanese word for「thing」. In English, the word「thing」can either mean something tangible like an actual object or something intangible for example a situation. But in Japanese the two are separated and have their own special word for it.

For tangible things the word「」(もの) is used to specify actual objects such as a tree, a house or in our magical scenario, a saw.「」is used just like any other noun and is also sometimes read as「ぶつ」depending on the compound it is used in.

If wanting to express something that you can’t physically touch, something intangible, like a thought, a situation, a case, an idea or concept, then the word「」(こと) is used.「」is also used as any other noun. You’ve probably heard the「」usage:「あなたのが好き」(I like you) which literally would translate to「I like your ‘thing’」(no naughty thoughts people!). This is close to a concept or thought and can include things like「I like the person you are」,「I like the way you are」and「I’m loving you」. So it’s more like, I like you as a ‘concept’, rather than I like you as a ‘thing’. That’s why「」is used. Please note that「」is often written in Hiragana.

Well, thaaaaat’s it again folks, a round of applause please for our courageous Chokochoko! Till next time and be sure to stop by on October the 10th for a special Chokochoko celebration, don’t miss it! またね

*No actual Chokochoko’s were hurt during this stunt.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2009 8:01 am

    First of all, I would like to say that the graphics is so cute. I still have to explore this blog and I hope I can find so many cute things here. As for the topic, this is really helpful especially because the speaker can add many words to it. That way, we could create tons of useful vocabulary.

  2. October 5, 2009 8:39 pm

    Thanks! Yeah I changed my header up to give my profile a more custom feel even though I haven’t paid for any upgrades😛

    Thanks for the translations, great stuff and the graphics on your site are amazing!

  3. October 6, 2009 1:22 pm

    Good tips, the graphic makes it entertaining!
    I’ll try Inazuma 11, the game and manga seems to get big in Japan.. a future Pokemon-Naruto phenomenon maybe..

  4. October 7, 2009 3:08 pm

    I think the graphic is so cute!!
    And your explanation sounds perfect to me. I think Japanese people sometimes would like to avoid expressing something directly. If “I like you. (あなたが好きです)” sounds too strong, they say “I like you (あなたのことが好きです)”…maybe:-)

  5. October 11, 2009 1:13 am

    Thanks everybody, glad to hear you guys like it😀

  6. London Caller permalink
    November 30, 2009 4:18 pm

    初めまして。
    素敵なイラストですね!
    私も日本語を勉強しています。
    よろしくお願いします。

Leave a Reply

