Skip to content

Issue 14: Study Tips

April 9, 2010

previewarticle

Learn how to write beautiful handwritten katakana!
fullpagedivider

issue1
white
explanation-3awhiten part 2 of Handwriting Masterclass we’ll move on to katakana. Like hiragana, katakana was also derived from Chinese characters but bears closer resemblance to kanji. Therefore, katakana are written in a similar way as kanji featuring more straight lines and sharp angles. Katakana is mostly used to write foreign loan words and is often considered a little more difficult to grasp because of less usage compared to hiragana. Nevertheless, being able to read them and write them beautifully is what today’s issue is about. Let’s write katakana!

Printed vs Handwritten
In Handwriting Masterclass part 1, Hiragana, we talked about how printed fonts differ from handwritten script. Handwritten katakana on the other hand follows printed fonts more closely and are for the most part identical.
dividerline

white
explanation-3aTo help you develop real handwriting, use this set of 5 practise sheets each covering 8 – 10 katakana. On the left you’ll see the printed version of a character (including romaji pronunciation for those still learning katakana) and on the right the actual written version. Arrows and pointers will guide you through and dotted examples as well as practise squares let’s you practise them on your own. Also included is a handy checklist for you to keep track.

Feel free to download (click to open or right-click to download) the sheets (in high quality PDF) below and print them out in glorious color or black and white (laser printers: don’t forget to turn on raster for even better prints) as many times as you want.
dividerline

white
white
issueissue
white

Congratulations!

Now you’ve learned the basics of the Japanese script, hiragana and katakana, keep practise writing them many times. Next time in the final part of Handwriting Masterclass, we’ll move on to writing kanji! (Don’t expect a 2000-character-counting practise sheet though )

white
white
issueissue

20 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2010 5:11 am

    ありがとう^^

  2. April 9, 2010 8:43 am

    ……. Can i say that I love you dude? you know… manly love..🙂 Time to write theese sheets out in MANY copies🙂

    Thanx dude, you are the best, and I am still drooling over yoru graphics, even in the katakana and hiragana trainign sheets, you rule!

    • April 9, 2010 9:37 am

      ahahahaha, well I’m really glad you liked them! I’m sure you’ll learn them in no time!🙂 Ganbatte!

  3. ニケ permalink
    April 9, 2010 10:43 am

    I had to look up the kanji 笑. Is it common practice to use this as a smiley? Anyway, I haven’t even opened the katakana sheet and I’ve already learnt two new things: this kanji (which looks a like a smiling cat face to me, so I think I’ll be able to remember it) and the expression やっと from the Chokochoko at the top of this page. ありがとう! :)(P.S. I think the 
 is a typo? It’s in your last paragraph.)

    • April 9, 2010 11:18 am

      It’s quite common yeah, if you are sad you can also use this (泣) which is crying.
      Which typo you mean? (I type really bad, I always type the whole article first and then start editing cutting and pasting words and sentences here and there and changing stuff. And in HTML with the coding and stuff, it gets really messy haha)

  4. ニケ permalink
    April 9, 2010 11:32 am

    Thanks for helping me pick up some more kanji and words along the way!
    As for the typo, I see a “
” in “Congratulations! 
Now you’ve learned…”.

    • April 9, 2010 11:52 am

      No thanks🙂
      Err…I dont get what you’re seeing.

      「As for the typo, I see a “
” in “Congratulations! 
Now you’ve learned…”.」

      What do you mean by –> “
”

      Either something is not showing up or I’m going blind, hehe

  5. ニケ permalink
    April 9, 2010 12:39 pm

    I literally see a little square there, the same as you get in place of non-supported characters. It’s the first character of the line. If I copy the text to Word, the 
 is replaced by a space. I can’t explain it, maybe it is specific to IE 6.0 or this pc, but it’s not a problem anyway.

    • April 9, 2010 12:41 pm

      Hmm…that’s so odd, I checked the HTML again but there’s nothing there… Anyways,maybe itll go away later haha.🙂

    • April 9, 2010 3:23 pm

      IE6 would most likly be the problem since I cant se the none supported square either. IE6 is not exactly the newest version of web browser and taht would explain lack of support for asian languages. Try to ( if possible) update the Browser, or even better, dont use Internet Explorer at all😀

      I found out that I could install firefox on a Winblows computer even if I was only a user and NOT the administrator. so try to do that and you will be able to see this blog and others with asian typing with no or very few problems🙂

      • ニケ permalink
        April 9, 2010 4:11 pm

        Bobanさん, ありがとうございます for your advice.🙂 I’m not allowed to upgrade IE or install Firefox on the pc I’m using right now, as it’s not mine. But apart from the one 
 on this page, I don’t have trouble with (Asian)character support anyway, that’s why I thought it was a typo at first. At home do I use Firefox, もちろん!

  6. Stefan permalink
    May 20, 2010 3:05 am

    Hey thanks alot for this! Will definitely use it.

  7. Chever Roldan permalink
    April 5, 2011 5:14 am

    Hey, uhm, it’s summer here and dropped by to say “Thank you so much for this!”. It’s really helpful, and I want to practice Hiragana and Katakana with sheets.😀


    Not good in english,sorry.😀

    • Squire Starsquid permalink*
      April 5, 2011 11:09 am

      Wish it was summer over here too! Good luck with your hiragana/katakana! Ganbatte ne!

  8. October 1, 2011 12:05 am

    Yessss now my handwriting will be GORGEOUS.

  9. 女の子 permalink
    January 29, 2013 7:28 pm

    ありがとーっう
    でも、このサイトがもうアップデートされてないから悲しいわ。新しいサイトがあるの?

  10. November 2, 2015 5:52 am

    Thanks for this!

    I’m an advanced student, but my prof is always giving me a hard time about my handwriting. xD It’s embarrassing because my English handwriting is gorgeous! (Hello, Catholic school penmanship class, haha.)

    Gonna print these out and brush up on my kana!

    • November 2, 2015 12:17 pm

      Hi Nikki, thanks for visiting! I’m sure your Japanese handwriting will catch up to your English handwriting soon!

Trackbacks

  1. ChokoChoko | My blog at Servage :)

Leave a Reply

