Skip to content

Issue 17: J-Book Review

April 29, 2010

previewarticle

Do you read manga? I didn’t, but now I do!
fullpagedivider

issue1
white

explanation-3awhitenlike some of my fellow Japanese learners, I’m a bit lacking in the otaku/anime department. I wish I was more of an otaku sometimes (I do), to a healthy degree I mean (). To all ya otakus doing virtual anime dating, that’s NOT healthy! So to make up for my lack of otaku-ism, I decided on an original manga to read casually, like when doing kakaー♪ (oh get over it! Everybody does that)

I wasn’t really looking for something specific while browsing for some new manga. But I am a sucker for anything fantasy, science fiction or horror. So any manga in these genres would do. Eventually I picked this neat title『World Embryo』which is a manga with a science fiction/fantasy plot. Honestly, I didn’t really care about plot or story, I mean, I want pwetty pictures with some text on the side, not some complicated storyline that has you wondering about difficult theories or evolutions (I’d read a book then). So my decision was based entirely on looking at the pictures. (howcome I didn’t think of Crayon Shin-chan or Doraemon?)

World Embryo
An ongoing series (currently 6 volumes), the story follows a guy (protagonist) called『天海陸 (Anami Riku)』who receives a message along with a photo of his dead sister,『Amane』, to go look for her. He decides to visit the hospital he recognizes from the photo. There he encounters a group of thugs (trying to rape a missy, see picture below) in the now abandoned hospital building. Angry for letting the girl escape, Riku is being held by the thugs until he gets saved by two warriors, an unknown girl called『Rena』and『Youhei』, Riku’s former classmate.
dividerline

white
explanation-3aThe situation gets real ugly when the thugs transform into monsters called『Kanshu』, which travel and reproduce through cellphone signals. While Rena and Youhei are off battling the Kanshus using special weapons transformed from their bodies, Riku discovers an egg. The egg hatches and a little girl resembling Riku’s dead sister Amane is born. Eventually Riku get’s drawn into an organization that fights the Kanshu and even bigger drama is ahead.

white
issue1
white

white
issue1
white

No, I’m not a pervert, I just like to read manga while shitting. The manga style is very mainstream and commercially. Typical manga, I like that. The story isn’t the most revolutionary (secret organizations fighting monsters a la Bleach is the trend these days) but nevertheless interesting. Comics don’t need to be too complicated right? The novel-ish book is, except for a couple pages, black and white. Would’ve been nice though if it was all full color like those Image/Top Cow comics. The writing style is, as you would expect from a typical manga, full of slang. Not good for learning (Naruto mimickers, puliez), but nevertheless a cultural aspect of Japanese. I like this manga (ohh pwetty pictures) because it’s over the top, whack and funny, and I’m definitely looking forward reading the other volumes in this series.

Book Info
title: World Embryo
white
pages: volume 1: 226
white
dimensions: 18 x 13 cm
white
extra: n/a
white
language: Japanese
white
publisher: 少年画報社 (www.shonengahosha.jp)
white
order: http://www.amazon.co.jp
white
ISBN: volume 1: 978-4-7859-2629-8
white
special Chokochoko rating: 80%

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2010 7:25 pm

    Manga not for me but Anime… well now we are talking🙂 I cant go by a day without at least one episode of anime from one of my favorite shows ( and there are a lot of them out there😀 )

    • May 2, 2010 8:24 pm

      Really? I’d like to watch more anime, but im too lazy too look for it hehe. Any recommendations?

  2. May 4, 2010 12:58 am

    Hi! This blog is run by professional(s), I suppose? Great blog!
    I tried to read manga to learn Japanese a long time ago, sadly to say, it didn’t work for me. Then I found out I like Japanese picture books better. I cried like a baby reading picture books about ijime (bullying) and war.

    • May 4, 2010 10:21 am

      Thanks! As long as it has pictures, I’m good!🙂 I tried to read your blog, its all in bahasa indonesia…! hehe

  3. May 15, 2010 7:35 pm

    Wow… Gorgeous site! And I’m proud of you! Reading manga with little toddler boob suckers is a much better way to learn Japanese!😀 (…hmm have to check this one out…)

  4. bluepilot permalink
    May 19, 2010 1:59 pm

    Hey, thanks for commenting on my blog. I like your blog, it is very pretty with all the colourful pictures.

    I am non-too tech savvy so I still have the `wordpress layout`

    And, aaah, Japanese is not that bad…what gun…the one against my head….how did that get there….

    • May 19, 2010 4:00 pm

      Haha, I like your blog too! The chick that couldnt cook next door was hilarious! Goodluck with the upcoming test!!!

  5. jujubee permalink
    June 16, 2010 3:31 pm

    Hi, thanks for commenting on my blog! Your blog is fantastic! Crayon Shin-chan is pretty funny. The art isn’t the best in manga but it fits with the story. I particularly like the fact that each chapter/story is only like 3 pages long.

  6. June 28, 2010 3:53 pm

    “Do you read manga?” << interesting question🙂 because I've read them since junior high school (20 years ago) and I'm still reading them up to this day…in fact I've just posted my top-5 manga yesterday.

    I haven't read this one yet, it hasn't been in my country

  7. Meow permalink
    June 21, 2012 4:15 am

    ahhhhhh love your tip of the hat to image&top cow ^__^

Leave a Reply

